Rebecca's Ponderings

December 8, 2009

Bellybuttons in Heaven and Other Discussions

Filed under: Home Education,Parenting — Rebecca @ 1:14 am
Tags: , , , ,

“Momma, will we have bellybuttons in heaven?” This is the question Bud asked randomly during lunch one day this week. As I pondered how he pulled that completely out of the blue, what would our new bodies be like, and how could I word this so that a five-year-old would understand, I had to admit that he had just asked another question which I could not definitively answer. I told him we would get new bodies but that I did not know whether they would have bellybuttons. We agreed to put that on our “We’ll See When We Get There” list.

We now have several items on that list. How is it that God was just always there? What was it like to live for 600 years? Will our brains have all the same stuff in them in heaven, or will they have different stuff? What kind of house did Adam and Eve have? Personally, I would like to know how Joshua was able to get an entire nation to walk around the city of Jericho without talking.

In reviewing all these, I remember the circumstanes in which they were asked. Many were random questions asked over lunch. Some were discussed while snuggled under covers in the early morning hours. A few came while driving to appointments. Every one of them were asked as we just lived life together.

For me, that is the best part of homeschooling. We have time to really disciple our children. I wonder how many of these questions would not have been asked if our life was governed by a school schedule. Would the kids have been too rushed to ponder these things? Would I have been so busy prodding them to move that I would not have listened? I am not certain that we will ever know the answers to those questions, even in heaven.

What I do know is that, as I look at our family and my personal responsibilities to train our children, I am thankful we have the freedom to choose homeschooling. I am glad that we made that choice years ago and now have time for these discussions. I look forward to fielding even more questions as the kids learn and grow. Peanut and Bud never cease to amaze me with the things they ask.

So now I wonder: If we make a list here, how will we get it in heaven?

2 Comments »

  1. *hee hee* I have two sons, and we get all kinds of good questions and discussions going like this! Aren’t boys GREAT? 😀

    Comment by Jennifer — December 8, 2009 @ 11:03 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

