Rebecca's Ponderings

January 2, 2010

Have I lost my mind?

Filed under: Growing in Christ — Rebecca @ 4:46 pm
Tags: ,

Yesterday, I decided to read the entire Bible in ninety days. Yes, I started on January first, though it was not a resolution. Yes, I will read it cover-to-cover. Yes, I still have a husband, two children and a dog. Yes, I am still homeschooling, and co-directing our co-op, and volunteering with middle schoolers, and…, and… And, those are precisely the reasons I have chosen to embark on this challenge.

You see, my husband is an electrician. His work requires him to have a great deal of tools and to keep them in good repair. If he shows up to work without the proper tools, he must borrow from someone else, make-do by using the wrong tools for the job, or decline the work altogether. Whichever he chooses, the final result is poor workmanship and a tarnished company image.

As a follower of Christ, I also have tools. However, my “tools” are not available at hardware stores. Paul wrote in 2 Timothy 3:16 that, “All scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting, and training in righteouness so that the man of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.” If I am going to fulfill all the roles God has given me, I must be properly equipped. Without it, I will not be effective, I will wear myself out, and I could tarnish the reputation of my Lord.

In taking inventory, I realized that my tools are in pitiful shape. While I have read every book in the Bible, I am embarrassed to admit that have never read it cover-to-cover. I have hopped and skipped through it, doing in-depth studies here, cursory read-throughs there. I was embarrassed to find that it has been years since I last read some of the books. It is time to clean out some old attitudes, reorganize my priorities, and renew my mind with the Word of God.

I am rather excited about this challenge. I had already committed to becoming a strong prayer warrior this year. Reading the entire Bible will help me to know the One I am praying to as well as ensure that our conversation is not one-way. The ninety day timeline is relatively short and should help me avoid boredom and burnout. It requires approximately one hour each day, which I am pretty sure I waste anyway -five minutes at a time. Also, it is much easier to see and understand connections between books over the course of three months rather than a whole year.

There are a number of resources available for this program. Biblegateway.com offers this reading plan. I am using their free iPhone app. The website: http://biblein90days.org/ offers videos and other resources. Also, http://www.momstoolbox.com/blog/ is a blog with daily study notes as well as a list of bloggers participating in this challenge over the first three months of 2010. If you would like to join me in this challenge, please let me know so that we can pray for and encourage each other.

Yes, I have probably lost my mind. Actually, I hope that I do lose it, so that God will replace it with the mind and heart of Christ.

1 Comment »

  1. Everybody makes new promises for the new year and I think it’s great that this is your promise, it will be very rewarding and I want to wish you good luck!

    P.S. I’m sorry for my horrible English, that’s because I’m from Belgium…

    Comment by hallelujahgirl — January 2, 2010 @ 5:10 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

