Rebecca's Ponderings

February 3, 2010

“Man Stuff”

Filed under: Parenting — Rebecca @ 9:33 pm
Tags: , ,

As a parent, there are times when we wonder whether anything we say is actually registering with our children. There are also times when we realize that they are little sponges, particularly when it comes to bad habits and bad words. Then, every once in a while, we are blessed to discover that they really did hear and understand the lesson we were actually wanting to teach. I discovered one such pearl this week.

My son, Bud, was talking to himself. This is a fairly common thing for him to do. (The poor child gets it from his Momma.) On this particular day, I happened to walk into the room and heard that he was talking so I asked what he was talking about. In his most grown-up, nonchalant, five-year-old voice, he told me, “Oh, just man stuff.”

“Man stuff?” I said. “So what is man stuff?” I asked, suppressing a smile.

“Stuff like protecting little kids, and sisters, and mommas and stuff like that.”

Oh, my heart just melted! I was so blessed. I let him know he was absolutely right and gave him a kiss.

Later, I told my husband of the conversation. He said that they had discussed these things while running errands one day. My husband had explained that someday Bud would probably be bigger than his sister and even myself and that it would be his duty to protect us, if necesary. They also talked about opening doors for others and treating all people with respect. He never called it, “Man Stuff;” they were just chatting. At the time, my husband had wondered how much of their conversation was getting through. Apparently he did quite well; Bud reiterated it to me almost word-for-word!

How beautiful are those discussions that take place while walking along the road!

1 Comment »

  1. Awwww … that’s so cute and sweet!

    Comment by Heather — February 4, 2010 @ 7:52 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

