Rebecca's Ponderings

April 24, 2010

Food 101

Filed under: Growing in Christ,What's for Dinner? — Rebecca @ 4:20 pm
Tags: ,

Lately, several friends have asked me about our eating habits, nutrition, recipes, and whatnot. Some were interested in going gluten-free, others were just looking for ideas to help them move forward in their own journeys toward healthier lifestyles. With that in mind, I thought I would compile a list of resources that have helped shape our dietary choices.

First, I think it is important to share my basic food philosophy. I know that sounds weird and you are probably much more interested in recipes and resources. However, I have found, through experience, that clarifying your basic beliefs about food and about life, is the absolutely essential first step in developing and maintaining a healthy lifestyle. Our belief system affects every decision we make. We must know where we stand in order to determine the truth from the millions of books, articles, blogs, and diet programs available to us today. All individuals interpret data based upon their belief systems. If the author (whether a scientist, nutritionist, friend, or otherwise) has a belief system which is in direct opposition to our own, we must take that into account before implementing his advice. That is not to say that we should not listen to anyone who disagrees with us; that would be impossible and completely unwise. As in all things, research and discernment are required.

My own philosophy regarding food has grown and changed through the years, as I have studied and applied what I learned. It is not stagnant. As Paul said, “We take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.” This takes place in every area of our lives, including our beliefs about food. It also takes time as we learn and grow in our knowledge and understanding of who God is and how He created us. I do not claim to have everything figured out. I am simply sharing the view from this stage of my journey.

Basically, my philosophy is that our bodies were created by God. In his infinite wisdom, He has surrounded us with everything we need for nourishment and strength. Therefore, the closer things are to the way God made them, the better. Understanding that everything is permissible, yet not everything is beneficial, I look at the guidelines God laid out for His people. I also look at what Jesus ate. Finally, I look at current research.

So, what brought me to these conclusions? What do we eat? And, how does it work in real life? Please stay tuned.

In the meantime, I encourage you to consider your own philosophy regarding food, health, and the origin of the human body. You may be surprised at how it changes the way you see EVERYTHING.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

