Rebecca's Ponderings

May 4, 2010

Food 101 Part 3

Filed under: What's for Dinner? — Rebecca @ 5:06 am
Tags: ,

By now, I am sure that anyone still reading this is convinced that I am crazy. No microwave? Real butter? What are fermented dairy products, anyway?

For those of you who are still interested, or just curious where I got such insane ideas, here is my list of favorite resources. These are the books and websites that I go to often or that have significantly impacted my own beliefs and choices.

  • The Maker’s Diet by Jordan Rubin – This book tells the “why” of eating the way God intended. It has been very helpful in shaping and clarifying my own philosophy. The resource guide in the back is a wonderful help. The one thing I do not like is the fact that the author sells supplements and meal replacement products on his website. I can understand how quality supplements might fit in, however I question the promotion of meal replacement products by someone who advocates real food. Thankfully, this book sticks primarily to discussing how the Standard American Diet (SAD) is causing so many of the diseases in our nation as well as explaining the natural, traditional diet that God intended.
  • Nourishing Traditions by Sally Fallon – This is more of a “how” book. I refer to it almost daily. It is filled with recipes, research, nutrition information, menu plans, and more. It is truly a comprehensive cookbook for those interested in learning how to prepare everything from traditional fermented foods and soaked grains, to modern, everyday main dishes and sides. I particularly love the salad dressings and soups. I did have one challenge with regard to her bread recipes. These simply did not turn out well for me. Of course, I had to end the experimentation once we learned I was so sensitive to gluten. Still, I cannot tell you just how valuable this book has been in my journey toward health.
  • Heavenlyhomemakers.com – This blog has some wonderful resources, recipes, and menus for families and is very practical. I particularly related to her journey toward healthy eating (http://heavenlyhomemakers.com/category/our-healthy-eating-journey), as it was very similar to my own. Like many of us she went through the couponing phase, the lowfat craze, and the diet drink haze before finally discovering Nourishing Traditions and setting her family on a course to real health. She offers several recipes (including some gluten-free ones) and real-life advice for busy mothers.
  • Publix.com/aprons – This website has some great menu ideas. Most are very simple and quick to prepare. If you are looking for fresh ideas to enliven your menu planning, I encourage you to look here. Many of these recipes fit quite nicely into our basic food philosophy and gluten-free lifestyle. Others can be easily adapted.
  • Breadtopia.com – Before I went gluten-free, I LOVED this site. It contains detailed information, including videos, on how to make no-knead bread. (I always had trouble with hand-made bread; this method turned out beautifully.) The whole-wheat sourdough was my absolute favorite. It was EXTREMELY EASY! The smell and the taste were absolutely divine. The kids used to run to the kitchen to listen to the bread crackle after it came out of the oven. We also loved the sourdough waffles. If you can eat wheat, I highly encourage you to try your hand at no-knead bread.

The resources above will get you started. If you are considering going gluten-free, check out the Dining Car page. It lists my most helpful resources for those with gluten sensitivities.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

