Rebecca's Ponderings

August 1, 2010

Renewal and Refreshment

Filed under: Growing in Christ,Home Education,Parenting — Rebecca @ 4:33 pm
Tags: ,

Wow! It has been quite some time since my last post. With camps, pool parties, picnics, visits from friends and relatives, movies in the park, and other outdoor activities, this summer has flown by. It has been great fun.

Now that the intense heat of August is upon us, we’re starting back into our school routine. We prefer to be inside now, anyway. Plus, it allows us to take more time off of school during the more temperate months. I am very ready for a more structured schedule. I am also looking forward to another fun school year.

A few years ago, some friends invited me to attend a homeschool convention with them. I had never been to one. They said they liked to split the cost of a hotel room, attend the workshops, go out to dinner at the Cheesecake Factory, and use the weekend as a mini retreat to prepare for the school year. I liked the idea, and I agreed to go. I am so glad I did. This annual conference is now a definite priority in my summer schedule.

This year’s convention was last weekend. I had looked through the workshops, listing those I wanted to be sure to attend. Each year, my focus is a bit different as my children grow and I encounter new struggles. (I find that the Lord uses homeschooling to train me, more than the kids.) This year, I was in need of fun. I found that and much more.

The speakers were wonderful. Each one poured out her heart, sharing ideas that had helped in her journey. Some had wonderful games to play with children. (I seriously need to buy a set of brightly-colored toilet brushes.) Others shared godly wisdom on motivating and encouraging. One reminded me that God, who holds the treasures of all knowledge, has called me; therefore He will equip me for the task of teaching the children he has blessed us with. I came home from the convention tired, yet refreshed, encouraged, and inspired in my teaching and in my Christian walk.

My prayer now, is that I will remember what I have learned and implement these lessons in my life. And just in case I happen to forget, I picked up a cd of my favorite speaker. I am planning a refresher course sometime this fall. I might even invite some friends to listen to it with me over cheesecake!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

