Rebecca's Ponderings

November 22, 2010

What Happened to Thanksgiving?

Filed under: Life — Rebecca @ 2:22 pm
Tags: , ,

What ever happened to Thanksgiving? Everywhere I look, people are decorating for Christmas. I can legitimize (to a point) the stores that started decorating in September and October; they enable people to plan (and shop) early. However, I have friends who put up their Christmas trees the first week of November. What happened to fall? What happened to giving thanks? What happened to Pilgrims and Indians? Why must we rush toward Christmas?

Please do not misunderstand me; I love Christmas. I love the music, the movies, the trees, the lights, and all the festivities. I love that it is a celebration of the birth of Christ, and I believe we should remember Emmanuel, God With Us, throughout the entire year. The trappings and traditions of the Christmas season are a completely different story. Like a rose, a great part of the beauty of the season is its brevity. If we decorate now, the scents, sights, and sentiments will be stale by Christmas Day. In addition, are we losing an opportunity to teach our children about our great heritage of faith in and gratitude toward the Almighty Provider?

I do have one blogger friend who has inspired me with her focus on Thanksgiving this year. She made a garland of blessings to string from their banister. I just love this idea! It is so simple and creative. The best part is that her daughters helped with the project. What a beautiful way to remember and give thanks for God’s blessings over the last twelve months. I cannot wait to make our own garland. Thank you, Heather, for sharing!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

